Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Research Basics
Where do you start with a research project? Google? Wikipedia? (You've been told not to use that one!)
Find reliable resources and information using the tools listed here rather than surfing the web.
Questions? Want to consult with a librarian? Contact DeAnn Jordan, Learning Commons Coordinator email@example.com
Start Your Research with Credo
Reference sources are used for, well, reference. This usually means that you need just a slice of information--a date, name of a place or person, or quick background information. Here are some examples of reference sources:
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.
Find articles for your research
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Includes articles from hundreds of journals and books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Its straightforward presentation of the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today's most important and timely issues makes the database an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. The Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that indexes high quality, peer reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access academic journals that use an appropriate quality control system and is not limited to particular languages or subject areas. The Directory aims to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access academic journals—regardless of size and country of origin—thereby promoting their visibility, usage and impact.